With the General Election imminent, the Council for Net Zero Transport will support the new Government as it refocuses on the challenge of delivering net zero.

Chair of the Council, Lord Deben said: ‘The recent High Court decision that the Carbon Budget Delivery Plan was unlawful underlines the scale of the challenge that will be facing the next Government. Progress on net zero has stalled. In some areas we’ve gone backwards.

‘Transport is one of the most challenging and complex sectors of the UK economy to decarbonise. It is also responsible for around a quarter of the country’s greenhouse gas emissions.

‘This new Council brings together very experienced people in key positions and with the widest range of perspectives to help us forge an evidence-based, multi-stakeholder consensus on how we can maximise the benefits from this essential – and inevitable – transition.’

Confirmed members include:

  • The Rt Hon Lord Deben (Chair)
  • Professor Jillian Anable, Chair in Transport and Energy, University of Leeds, Institute for Transport Studies
  • Elizabeth de Jong, CEO, Fuels Industry UK
  • Mike Hawes, CEO, Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders
  • Fiona Howarth, CEO, Octopus Electric Vehicles
  • Professor Neville Jackson, Chair, RAC Foundation
  • Edmund King OBE, President, Automobile Association
  • Cordi O’Hara OBE FEI, President, UK Electricity Distribution National Grid
  • Dr Doug Parr, Chief Scientist & Policy Director, Greenpeace UK
  • Anne Shaw OBE, Executive Director, Transport for the West Midlands
  • Chris Stark, CEO, Carbon Trust
  • Martin Tugwell, CEO, Transport for the North
  • David Wells OBE, CEO, Logistics UK
  • TBC Chair, Local Infrastructure and Net Zero (LINZ) Board, Local Government Association

Sign up here to receive our free weekly news bulletin and quarterly e-book.