Parish and town councils are being invited to apply for grants of up to £1,500 in match funding for installation of the charge points.

The fund of £20,000 has been set aside to enable and support community led action to tackle the climate emergency in line with the council’s commitment to become carbon neutral by 2030.

SWT has been implementing the roll-out of EVCPs in council-owned car parks in Minehead, Porlock, Taunton, Watchet, Wellington, Williton and Wiveliscombe to support the reduction of carbon emissions across the district.

The project supplements the charge points already completed and live at Deane House and Blackbrook Sports Centre in Taunton, Exmoor House in Dulverton, and Alexandra Road in Minehead.

Cllr Dixie Darch, executive member for climate change, said: ‘As well as supporting our own efforts to tackle climate change this funding for charge points will benefit our residents with electric vehicles and contribute to the local economy by encouraging visitors with electric vehicles to the area.

‘I hope it will also encourage residents to have the confidence to convert to electric vehicles as a more sustainable method of travel, knowing there are charge points in their communities and throughout the district.’